Fire Alarm FAQ

Status
Not open for further replies.

JamesM

Sorry to be a nuisance. I am a journeyman electrician who has recently been "thrown to the wolves". Our company recently lost our best fire alarm guy and I am stuck trying to pick up the pieces with minimal experience. I know the very basics of a looped addressable system, but I have 2 minor issues.

a. Can I run 14/4 (mc in this building) for a speaker/strobe or do I need to run 2 seperate 14/2 wires?

b. I have to incorporate a couple 24v magnetic door holders into the system. Whats the easiest way to go about this? is there a module for this? relays? which circuit does it tie into?

thank you for any help

nakulak

every FA system has an approved set of plans, and a submittal book. Some plans actually have typical connection shown for each device (landing terminal numbers). You need to check the set of plans to see if the plans are even correct, and check to see that the plans show enough conductors (sometimes the designers screw up). There might be two plans for each area - power wiring and lon loop wiring. The last couple FA speaker/strobes I did had a power and a lon loop, but I don't know if they are all like that. Same with smoke sounder bases - you might need 2 in 2 out, might not. Check the device cuts and the plans so you know what you are doing.

dhalleron

I know Silent Knight and Firelite both recommend running the strobes and speakers in separate cables. This is true even though they end up in the same box. Depending on your speaker circuits, they could be non-power limited and your strobes are power limited. Also a badly filtered strobe power supply could cause a very low noise on the speakers when they are not being used.