Fire Pump

Status
Not open for further replies.

cestone

I have been an electrical designer for 20 years. I am using the 2008 NEC for my design. I thought I had a firm grasp of the fire pump code, but when my project manager contacted a previous designer for his opinion, I can no longer rely on my interpretation of the code based upon what he was told by the previous employee. I have been reading all sorts of forums on Fire Pump electrical installations lately trying to make some sense of what I am being told.

I have been designing the normal/emergency service feed to the fire pump from an ATS underground to the Fire Pump Control panel. The ATS also serves other emergency loads by a distribution panel to emergency branch panels. I have a stand-by Generator feeding the emergency side of the ATS.

I am being told that the NEC requires a breaker between the power source and the fire pump control panel and that breaker should only be for short-circuit protection. I have information from Sq D that states if the Fire Pump is fed by a service, the circuit breaker is sized to carry the LRA indefinitely. Where a generator serves the fire pump, the NEC allows me to use Table 430.52 instead of setting the breaker at LRA. Table 430.52 sizes the breaker at a max. of 250% of the motor. In my design, I have both.

The fire pump is a 20HP 208volt 3 phase motor. It has always been my understanding that the NEC prefers no breaker between the source (utility or stand-by generator) and the fire pump control panel.

Can someone shed some light on this situation for me?

Thank you so much for your help

dkidd

Occupation
PE
Last edited:

david luchini

Staff member
Occupation
Engineer
I don't believe that the NEC requires a breaker between the power source and the fire pump controller, however, it permits one. See 695.4(A) and (B).