Florescent lighting problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

Greg1707

Occupation
Business owner Electrical contractor
I have little experience with florescent light fixtures so maybe you guys can help. I was called to a bakery with several florescent light fixtures that are not working. There are about 10 fixtures in a row all on the same circuit. The first five work and the second do not. I did not have much time on my first visit so I checked the first non functioning fixture to see if it was receiving current, it was. I also swapped a couple of tubes to make sure that was not the problem.
Does anyone have an idea of what may be the problem? These are older troffer type fixtures.

readydave8

re member
Occupation
electrician
I have little experience with florescent light fixtures so maybe you guys can help. I was called to a bakery with several florescent light fixtures that are not working. There are about 10 fixtures in a row all on the same circuit. The first five work and the second do not. I did not have much time on my first visit so I checked the first non functioning fixture to see if it was receiving current, it was. I also swapped a couple of tubes to make sure that was not the problem.
Does anyone have an idea of what may be the problem? These are older troffer type fixtures.
I would check again for current with anything that puts a load, maybe pigtail with 100w lamp (bulb), if it lites just fix all 5 fixtures one at a time, if baker asks why all 5 failed when other set of 5 still worked, tell him it was due to harmonic symetry.

Little Bill

Staff member
Occupation
Semi-Retired Electrician

I would first ask the owner if something has happened or changed since they were all working. Maybe someone adding a circuit or even being in the circuitry for any reason. Also find out when they stopped working. One or Two could have been out for a long time and he's just noticing when another one died.
Other than that, what ReadyDave said.

jeremysterling