Flouresent fixture keeps burning up ballasts

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a stae Licensed home inspector here in Louisiana. I know a fair amount about electricity, but not as much I wish I did. Perhaps someone can answer this question for me.
Will a lack of grounding cause the ballast on a flourecent light fixture to 'burn up' pre-maturely? I have a neighbor who has had three fixtures installed over her kitchen sink and none of them lasted more than a month. I took the cover off of the light switch and pulled out the tubes. It's an older house with old type romex wiring (hot leg-nuetral leg). I hope that someone can help me with this. I have seen some really bizarre wiring situations in the inspections business. Very few homes do I inspect that do not need the services of a licensed electrician.

tom baker

First Chief Moderator
Staff member
Re: Flouresent fixture keeps burning up ballasts

First of all thanks for your honesty and understanding of what you know and don't know.
Flouresent lights are designed to be operated with a ground, to the metal case of the fixture, so the lamps will fire. I have seen a house with Flouresent fixtures add to undgrounded wiring, some times they would work, sometimes not.

jantaworn

How do I delete the post anyway? :confused:

[ August 09, 2003, 07:48 AM: Message edited by: jantaworn ]

jantaworn

Hi Mr. Inspector

My friend told me that it could be the bulbs themselves that might be bad.They might draw too much current cause the ballast to heat up. Another thing might be. The next time you change out a ballast perhaps you should check to see whether or not the wires that go to the ends of the bulbs are shorted to the fixtures. Please with the power off and with a Ohm meter.

Be safe and good luck :cool:

hbiss

EC, Westchester, New York NEC: 2014
Occupation
EC

I take it to understand that the entire fixture was replaced including the lamp(s) each time.