FPE breaker

Status
Not open for further replies.

jro

I recently was called to check a cut wire, while installing new decking a roofer nicked a 12/2wg romex, causing the hotwire to come in contact with the ground wire. At the same time this happened the homeowner was washing dishes,he received a pretty good jolt, testing by the homeowner (a plumber by trade) with a multimeter from the nuetral side of a nearby receptacle to the rim of the metal sink, revealed 80volts.The circuit was protected by a 1 pole 20amp Federal Pacific Breaker, which did not trip. After I arrived the 80volts were no longer present, I looked at the romex and the ground wire had burned thru, but the breaker was still on.In this case if the homeowner had been seriously hurt or worse who would be liable.

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
Re: FPE breaker

jro,
That doesn't sound like any type of breaker problem. It sounds like the EG in the damaged NM is bonded to the water system and not to the grounded conductor and the water system is not properly bonded to the grounded conductor. If the bonding is properly installed there should be almost no voltage between the receptacle neutral and the water pipe.
Don

rrrusty