Funny 3 phase Amp thing

Status
Not open for further replies.
So... This thing is happening.
I know it's happening but I'm hoping someone will help me understand it a bit clearer.
Let me explain.
I have a splitter with two loads coming out. Lets use some number close to the real ones. 600v 125 amps total.
When I use a clamp on meter on a singe phase conductor coming into the splitter. I get 125 Amps.
On the same phase... it splits to two different loads.
When I measure the amps on each wire of the same phase going to the load. They add up to 125 amps. (115 and 10.)
But..
When I use a clamp on meter on the same phase around 2 wires on the load side of the splitter. I get less. something like 112.

Of the 3 phases, only one reads the same when I read the single wire line and then around both the load wires.

So... I'm not really experienced with 3phase. But I know when put 2 single phase wires in the clamp on meter they add together if they are on the same phase/leg. And cancel each other out if on opposite legs. I assume it's something to do with the single phase being 180 degrees out of phase and the 3phase being only 60 degrees.? Or something like that. But... if on the same phase wouldn't they still add up? I'm confused.

Hope someone can open my eyes.

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
I know it's happening but I'm hoping someone will help me understand it a bit clearer.
Let me explain.
I have a splitter with two loads coming out. Lets use some number close to the real ones. 600v 125 amps total.
When I use a clamp on meter on a singe phase conductor coming into the splitter. I get 125 Amps.
When I measure the amps on each wire of the same phase going to the load. They add up to 125 amps. (115 and 10.)
But..
When I use a clamp on meter on the same phase around 2 wires on the load side of the splitter. I get less. something like 112.