GEC Routing in Building Steel

Status
Not open for further replies.

jeremyp

I'm a licensed electrician that works for a company that builds power houses, gear houses, pump houses, power centers, etc. We put copper halos around the buildings off of insulators for the GEC to bond all of the service equipment (meaning transformers of differing voltages and panels which have a neutral only bonded within its parent transformer). On the corners of the building we put copper plates for the field installation of the GEC to earth. We currently take bare copper wire from the grounding halo thru the side of the building and bolt to these copper plates. The buildings are completely welded steel, 1/8th inch skin, 1/4 inch floor, Steel I-Beam joists. All equipment is installed with machine threaded bolts.

After fighting with the siding guys, siliconing several sleeves I thought probably ought to have bonding bushings on them and arguing with a mechanical engineer later I am ready to ask for help from the forum. My thinking is: the entire building is welded structural steel, provided all bonding connections are made with machine thread bolts to welded copper plates then the halo around the building is unnecessary if not dangerous. I also fail to see the reason for running a wire thru the wall to a welded plate as the connection is already continuous.

Any help would be great, two or fifteen more outbursts from me might just get this pipe bender fired.

ActionDave

Chief Moderator
Staff member
Durango, CO, 10 h 20 min from the winged horses.
Occupation
Licensed Electrician
It's been said for a long time that possession in nine tenths of the law. When it comes to grounding/earthing perception is nine tenths of reality. Dirt worshipers are not rational beings.