General power tolerances/requirements

Status
Not open for further replies.

byunathan

I am an engineer installing several new pieces of equipment. I have to verify the actual power supplies and grounding against the available supplies. What does the code say about tolerances around voltage and grounding? For example, one machine requires 115VAC and our actual supply at the time of testing was 119VAC. Does the code specify that +/- 10% is acceptable?

Similarly with grounding, 0 Ohms is the most desirable, but does the code give any requirements for acceptable grounding?

dereckbc

Staff member
Re: General power tolerances/requirements

These are not code issues per sey. Service voltage ranges are gennerally dictated by state utility agencies or by the utility themnselves I believe.

There is no specific value for impedance for grounding. The code does state that a single rod ground electrode which measures higher than 25 ohm's shall be supplemented by an additional rod. If after adding the second rod and the impedance measures 100 ohm's you are done and meet requirements. That is why most electricians just drive two-rods and do not bother with any measurements.

Code basis GEC and EGC sizes from tables 250.66 and 250.122. 250.66 sizes the GEC based on the size of service conductors, and 250.122 is sized per the OCPD.

pqtest

Hello-

I believe that I can provide some information to the ground resistance portion of your question.

More than likely you are interested in the ground resistance (AC impedance(Z)) value at the receptacle, called the equipment grounding conductor (EGC), rather than the DC resistance of the earthing system or made electrodes such as ground rods.

EGC impedance maximums can be found in Table 6-1 of IEEE standard 1100-1999, "Recommended Practice for Powering and Grounding Electronic Equipment".
Here are the numbers based upon a 120V system:

For a 15 amp overcurrent device: 1.0 Z ohms
For a 20 amp overcurrent device: 0.8 Z ohms