Generators and Computers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brcobrem

Hi,

In the aftermath of Hurricane Wilma, I am having a heck of a time with one of my customer's computer networks. I am hoping that someone here will be able to give me a little insight into a problem. If this post is completely off topic here, please let me know and I will be happy to follow your direction.

Please note that I am not a licensed electrician, but I did work as an apprentice about 25 years ago and still have my (slightly burnt) Channel Locks. Also - I am not seeking do-it-yourself electrician advice. I would have my customer's electrician do his job.

Here's the problem:

My customer has a server computer and ten workstation computers that login to that server to do the daily accounting chores. The power lines are still down outside and they are running on several portable generators (rated ~5000 watts each).

The server and computers start up fine, but they are having extreme difficulty logging in to the network (keywords: logon, login, logging in, log on, logging on ). Note that network cable runs from each computer, to a "switch". The Switch is a powered device where you plug in all the computers' network cables. A single cable then runs from the Switch to the server computer. The cable is the commonly available low voltage unshielded Cat5 variety.

We have found that if we completely shut down all the equipment, unplug it from the generators, then restart the equipment, some of the computers are able to login to the server. Each day different computers are able to make the connection. Today it took three hours of shutting down, then working up to get only five of the computers connected to the server.