GFCI Receptacle tapped from well pump

Status
Not open for further replies.

atitus

Occupation
Healthcare
I am new at this and never posted in a forum before.. hope I don't get kicked out...

Not sure if this belongs here or somewhere else, OR if this was even answered in another thread... I used to work for an electrician who is now retired, shout out to Mr. Rosen.. he taught me all I know related to the industry.. anyways he refered me to this forum.. anyways..

I live in Tallahassee and have a rainsoft water softener system that was just installed by a particular company.. they installed it over by the well about a good 30-50 feet away from the house... When I asked him questions about how he was going to get power for the system there, he said we do this all the time and that he was going to take it from the 240volt well pump and wire in a 120volt GFCI... I asked if it was code to use the ground coming from the panel as the neutral AND ground at the newly installed GFCI and he said yes, it is code.. I felt unsettled about this and started to ask questions.. could someone clear up the air for me?

Thank you ALL in advance for taking the time to read this

Hope the picture came through

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
Since the OP is not asking "how to do it" we are allowing this thread for the time being. Atitus you need to get a licensed electrician for this. I assume the water softener company is installing it and they obviously have no clue and probably need to reported to the code authority.

Dzboyce

Occupation
Washington 03 Electrician & plumber