going rate?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tonyou812

I'm not sure if this is really the place to ask but i am currently looking for a new job and i have five and 1/2 years experience. But i was kind of surprised
when a couple of contractors gave me their quote on what i should be at. I mean im not looking for any benifits because i get them through my wife. and my present employer is paying me 23 hr. Does that seem like to much? Or should i say is 18 - 19 hr enough? I consider myself a good employee. I dont take long coffee or lunch breaks. I always on time and if i need to stay on the job a little late to get it done I do it.

haskindm

Hourly rates vary greatly according to the area and the type of work that you do. Typically commercial electricians can expect to earn more than those that do only residential work. Workers in urban areas tend to be paid more than those in rural areas, but there are no firm rules. That said, $23 per hour with only five year's experience sound VERY generous, but what are the conditions for which you get that money? Are you guaranteed a certain number of hours per week? Do you receive any benefits? Do you get paid vacations? There are many variables to consider when determining the "going rate".

celtic

It depends on the nature of the work.
If you are doing residential type work, $23 might be ok...IF it included some benefits - like medical and retirement. Without these items, the employer is only looking to "fill a vacancy" and has no long term plans for his employees.

If you are doing commercial and industrial type work, it's low.

What were some of thwe other's guys umbers?

tonyou812