Ground fault protection

Status
Not open for further replies.

CarRamrod

I have a question regarding ground fault protection.

We are installing emergency power distribution. We are transforming from 600V to 4160V, then back down, to power some equipment that is far away from the emergency generator. XFMs are delta to resistance grounded Y.

We are installing the 600V cable for 500A and the 4160V cable for 75A.

My question is:
Is ground fault protection necessary for this kind of setup? For the 4160V or the 600V equipment? I'm in Canada, but NEC references (and quotes!) would still be helpful for some guidance at least, as I've never done this kind of thing before.

Thanks in advance.
Ron

ramsy

Roger Ruhle dba NoFixNoPay
Occupation
Service Electrician 2020 NEC
I remember a similar thread that involved an airport ops several hundred feet from the svc.. People suggested running the HV service underground to one stepdown, rather than multiple step downs & backfeeds.

That thread seems lost to mikeholt.com & google, perhaps purged like others, but if you are referring to NEC 240.13
Code:
240.13 Ground-Fault Protection of Equipment.
Ground-fault protection of equipment shall be provided in accordance 
with the provisions of 230.95 for solidly grounded wye electrical systems 
of more than 150 volts to ground but not exceeding 600 volts phase-to-phase 
for each individual device used as a building or structure main disconnecting 
means rated 1000 amperes or more.

The provisions of this section shall not apply to the disconnecting means for the following:
(1) Continuous industrial processes where a nonorderly shutdown will introduce additional or increased hazards
(2) Installations where ground-fault protection is provided by other requirements for services or feeders
(3) Fire pumps installed in accordance with Article 695
The NEC may not required GFPE for Equipment, in cases like yours, but designers may still include them.