Ground Fault....Short Circuit??

Status
Not open for further replies.

dave1083c

Dear Forum:

Please forgive what could be a stupid question, but I can't seem to find a good explanation of the difference between a ground fault and a short circuit. The two seem to be used interchangeably at times, and it's really confusing me. I'm a 1st year apprentice, trying to absorb as much as I can. Can anyone help me?

iwire

Staff member
Re: Ground Fault....Short Circuit??

A short circuit is line to line, both sides of 240 coming together for an example.

A ground fault is an ungrounded conductor contacting grounded / bonded metal objects.

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician

Bob,
In my opinion a ground fault also includes a grounded conductor making contact with a grounding conductor or bonded conductive object.
Don

iwire

Staff member

Originally posted by don_resqcapt19:
Bob,
In my opinion a ground fault also includes a grounded conductor making contact with a grounding conductor or bonded conductive object.
Don
I can see that and I thought about it when I posted, it is indeed a fault to ground. :)

However I could not satisfy myself that it is a 'ground fault' as used by the NEC.

The only way I can think of the NEC using the term ground fault has to do with ungrounded conductors.

JMO, Bob

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician

Bob,
Yes, the NEC use of the word cannot include a grounded to grounding fault, because a standard OCPD will not clear this type of fault. A GFCI, AFCI and maybe a GFP will.
Don

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician

Bob ,

You've mentioned a line to line and a ungrounded to grounded/bonded metal objects fault what about a line to neutral fault?

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician

Infinity

Originally posted by infinity:
Bob ,

You've mentioned a line to line and a ungrounded to grounded/bonded metal objects fault what about a line to neutral fault?