Grounding Comm. Poles In Mexico

Status
Not open for further replies.

dwayapet

I have a question which relates to grounding a communications pole outside in Mexico. The pole is about 15' tall and is a composite pole. I have wireless Antennas and AP's attached to the pole. I have found it to be the norm to always ground communications poles outside by means of a rod near the base of the pole and bond the respected boxes and devices to the ground rod by means of a #6 AWG.

I am being presented with the design of having the ground wire ran into the builidng through the same conduit feeding the pole. Now I am no rocket scientist, but I don't know if they understand the implecations of bringing in overvoltage such as lightning into the facility.

What can be their reasons for wanting to bring the ground into the building rather than installing a 5' rod near the pole and bond to it?

Any feedback and further check to my sanity is welcomed.

dwayapet

electricmanscott

Gorund rods at the pole will not provide a means to clear a fault in the event that one occurs and could result in a dangerous condition. The egc should be run back to the panel along with the circuit conductors.

Last edited:

iwire

Staff member
dwayapet said:
I am being presented with the design of having the ground wire ran into the building through the same conduit feeding the pole.

If there are power conductors coming from the building to the pole it is required and necessary for safety that a grounding conductor be run with the power conductors all the way back to the source.

You may add as many grounding electrodes at the pole as you want but they must be in addition to the grounding conductor from the source.

What can be their reasons for wanting to bring the ground into the building rather than installing a 5' rod near the pole and bond to it?

Electrical safety.

dwayapet