Grounding conductor requirement?

Jack Gironda

Occupation
Home Inspector
As a home inspector, I frequently come across electrical systems with conduit used as the grounding conductor. Obviously, this was permitted in the past, though later the grounding conductor became a requirement. Does anybody know offhand what year the grounding conductor became required? I frequently come across homes built in the 80s and 90s with no grounding conductor which I no was wrong, but I’m still am trying to find definitively when or approximately when it was first required.

Joe.B

Occupation
Building Inspector
no grounding conductor which I no was wrong, but I’m still am trying to find definitively when or approximately when it was first required.
"No grounding conductor" is different than "not grounded". Do you have a copy of the CA Electrical Code, or NEC? If not get one, or access to one, and thoroughly read all of article 250. Then re-read part VI (starting at 250.109) of said article, then when you get to 250.118 you will see and understand why I specifically gave you that reference above.

I know text only communication can leave a false impression of tone and inflection. You could read what I wrote above as condescending or belittling, but please know that's not how it's intended. I am genuinely trying to give you the best direction possible to read the right information and understand the code. Too many people follow the UCL.

Urban Code of Legend

Elect117

Occupation
Engineer E.E. P.E.
Electrical metal conduit can be used as a EQUIPMENT grounding conductor if you abide by 250.118.

There are instances with in grounding, like grounding electrode conductors and supply side bonding jumpers where they can not be electrical metal conduit. They are required to be bonded to it.

I also wonder if you mean grounded services vs ungrounded services? Like maybe you are referencing older 480V ungrounded services not having a ground/neutral ran from the utility?

tom baker