Had a call where they said their dryer was sparking on hot water heater

Status
Not open for further replies.

joshmurphy

New User
Occupation
General Maintenance
I had a call the other night, and they told me that their stackable washer/dryer had sparked against their water heater.

I found that the breaker was also tripped. I discovered that the bonding strip was still in place on the back and it’s a 4 wire system. So I went ahead and removed that.

the washer/dryer and water heater were about a pinky width away from each other. Pretty much touching.

I know that the ground and neutral should not have been bonded, but I can’t see how it would spark against the water heater on a properly working system (no open neutral or open ground) and cause enough current to trip the breaker. Should I look further into this issue?

I should also note that I’m not an electrician, I’m currently in school to become one. I have a lot of experience from working in the maintenance field and that’s why I wanted to double check on this dryer issue. In case I need to call someone out. Thanks

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
Could be a lot of things. Best to call in a pro. Not just any old electrician though. A substantial percentage, maybe even a majority, won' t have a clue as to how to go about effectively troubleshooting this. Get an experienced service tech.

tortuga

Code Historian
Occupation
Electrical Design
The neutral current of a residential washer dryer is probably the FLA of the motor, so perhaps 12 amps.
Since the neutral was bonded to the frame there was a parallel path for that neutral current, possibly 4 paths.
Since your in school learning ohms law take a second and diagram out this circuit.
You have a 120V load and 4 return paths;
The #10 white in the dryer circuit
The #10 Bare EGC in the dryer circuit

The #10 EGC in the water heater circuit, assuming its electric.
The metallic piping to the water heater if any.