Healthcare Facility Special Power Routing

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
I am new to the Healthcare Construction industry. I have many years' experience in Electrical Automation, Design, R&D, Controls, etc. I saw two different (separtly derived) power receptacles (120 VAC) in the same quad receptacle box. 1 duplex outlet was Orange - UPS Power, and the other duplex outlet was Red - Emergency Power. The facility has been remodeled, expanded, and renovated many times since it was built in 1872.

My question is whether or not this quad receptacle box violates the NEC, good practice, or any other reason that I must do something about it. I am not going to change it for aesthetics, but the colors are very similar in low light, and each has a specific purpose (nothing is currently plugged in).

I can't directly ask the Sub-Contractors Master Electrician because he does not report through me or my department.

Thank you.

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
What ATS does the UPS originate from? If it is the Critical Branch you're fine. You could also provide a barrier in the boxes to separate the two systems.

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
UPS ATS Feed switches between Main Switchboard and Backup Generator.
Critical Circuit ATS Switches between Main Switchboard (different branch circuit) and Backup Generator.

There is a 480:208 transformer exclusively for the Critical Circuit off the Generator.
There is a different 480:208 transformer for the UPS from the Generator.

Thanks for your reply.

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
In that case a barrier would be my suggestion. Note, the colors for the EM systems are determined by the hospital so either of the receptacle colors could be changed and made common through out the facility.

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
Thanks Roger.

The Hospital uses Orange throughout the Hospital to signify UPS supported Power.