Help needed finding code on panel placement on or adjacent to shipping container.

Status
Not open for further replies.

NEC_help

Where in the NEC can I find rules governing panel placement on/in or adjacent to a freight/shipping container?

My friend wants to start a welding business out of his container on his property, the container is on a slight grade though. any leveling would not happen till summer he said, but would like to find out what the NEC states on this topic.

I though that trenching and running his feeders in RNC and putting in a pair of PT posts to mount the panel to, and pouring a level concrete slab in front of the panel may be an acceptable route, but! I'm just a student, and not a licensed electrician. I'm just helping him do some research.

More info: The panel is to be 100amp fed from a commercial TB meter main and trenched 60 ft.

any advice would be appreciated.

chris kennedy

Occupation
60 yr old tool twisting electrician
Where in the NEC can I find rules governing panel placement on/in or adjacent to a freight/shipping container?

I agree with Dennis but would like to add being familiar with 230 would be a plus for this install.

My friend wants to start a welding business out of his container on his property,

More info: The panel is to be 100amp fed from a commercial TB meter main and trenched 60 ft.
Who figured 100A of 240v 1? (I'm assuming 1?)? This guy going to work alone forever?

Welcome to the Forum.:)

Jim W in Tampa

I agree with Dennis but would like to add being familiar with 230 would be a plus for this install.

Who figured 100A of 240v 1? (I'm assuming 1?)? This guy going to work alone forever?

Welcome to the Forum.:)

Nothing wrong in working alone, actually i prefer it over baby sitting.
Would suggest to atleast run 2 inch pvc to make job easier if his needs ever grow. Even as a 1 man shop 100 is not much.

NEC_help

yes one man show..

yes one man show..