Help understanding the cause of a 5kv explosion

Status
Not open for further replies.

JustJosh

Hi,
I'm an electrical station operator. Today, one of my co-workers (let's call him "M") had an incident at an electrical substation and we're trying to figure out the cause of it. The station has two 25MVA open delta transformers that feed a front & rear bus. Each transformer has two 5kV cbs, one for each bus. The station is normally configured with one bank feeding the front bus & the other feeding the rear bus. M had transferred the entire station load to one transformer and opened the cbs to the other transformer. The two buses were now in parallel thru the bank's 5kV cbs. (It should be noted that each bus feeds approximately 8 feeders that are part of our distribution system. Each fdr position is made up of a 5kV CB that is fed from the bus thru disconnects & then goes thru two step voltage regulating transformers on the load side of the CB before it goes thru a pothead out to the field. Sorry - this is getting kind of long. The two regulators are wired open delta with one AB & one BC regulator.)