how do you teach

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ponchik

Occupation
Electronologist
I am wondering how and what you guys teach:

Start on article 90 then cover as much as you can in a semester time?

Teach specific topics: Conduit fill, box fill, grounding...

Teach topics specific to commercial or topics specific to dwelling?

I have been just covering topics starting from article 90 and try to cover as much as possible in a semesters time. But for next semester i like to change this routine and would like to know what you guys do.

Also teaching 3 hours a week is not enough time to cover material in detail. How many hours a week do you teach or think should be enough to cover material in detail.

Thanks for your time.

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
To me, the NEC really starts with Art. 250.

I'd start with some basic electrical theory.

BILLY101

When I was an instructor (1979-1984) for 1st year apprentices the code was a part of the mix of things to present to the folks.
That experience taught me important things about how to use and help others learn how to use the Code.
While trying to help them understand the various specific problems presented with the code, like derating or tap rule, I tried to allow the students to think of the code as a reference that they can learn to access as needed and not to try to memorize the specifics except for some of the most often used requirements.
Learn how to utilize the code as any tool in your pouch.

BILLY

Ponchik

Occupation
Electronologist
Learn how to utilize the code as any tool in your pouch.

BILLY

I agree with you, and i tell my class that with some exceptions you can't memorize the code, you need to learn how to navigate through the book, understand the tables and how to look up material.

brian john

Who and what are you teaching.

Apprentices or those wishing to take a JW or Masters test?