How to calculate AC current draw through a DC motor and its controller?

mausaer

Occupation
apprentice student machine wiring
I'm a novice who is rewiring an old machine that runs off of 2-phase 110VAC and has three motors. I want to balance the motor load between the two phases but am struggling because one motor is AC and two motors are DC.

Motor 1 is 220VAC 5A, motor 2 is 90VDC 5A, and motor 3 is 180VDC 7.6A.

How do I calculate the equivalent AC current for motor 2 and motor 3 so I can split the three motors as evenly as I can among the 2 phases?

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
Post approved as poster is student apprentice involved in machine wiring

winnie

Occupation
Electric motor research
By '2 phase' 110V, I presume you mean normal split phase 120/240V as found in a home. You should look up the difference between 'split phase' (common) and '2 phase' (rare) power.

Motor nominal utilization voltage is less than the corresponding supply voltage, so a 110V motor would be connected to a 120V supply, and 220V motor connected to a 240V supply.

The 220V motor is easy. It is connected L-L on the 240V supply, and evenly loads both legs.

The DC motors are harder to figure, because the controller is going to take input power and convert it to output power for the motor. You need to know the characteristics of the controller before you can really answer the question.

What is the AC supply voltage of the DC motor controllers?

-Jonathan

Jraef

Moderator, OTD
Staff member
Occupation
Electrical Engineer
Motor 1 is 220VAC 5A, motor 2 is 90VDC 5A, and motor 3 is 180VDC 7.6A.

Assuming Motor 1 is 220V single phase...