How would one go about making sure a service is able to handle another motor load?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a licensed commercial electrician and I am working on getting my administrator's license. I would like to know from another professional how they might go about finding out whether or not another motor load might be installed in a commercial installation without recalculating the entire load for a building. - For example: A customer asks you to install a new motor conveyor and he shows you right where he wants it. Let's say there is a sub panel close by and you want to add it to that sub panel. - Is it really necessary to find every load attached to that sub panel and recalculate everything and make sure it all falls within code? How does a professional approach this? All or most of the work I have done while working for others has been engineered or "given to me" by my superiors. But as a small contractor I anticipate running into this type of scenario and I would like to see if I can get some input from another professional on the best way to approach this without making a big project out of a small one. - Any help is appreciated and thank you in advance.

rt66electric

rule of thumb

rule of thumb

I suspect the vast majority of people would just add a small load like this and not give it much thought.

Goto the main panel or transformer and stick your thumb on it. If it not warm it is not loaded enough. Sit on the Tranformer , If it is warm enough to keep your hinney warm a coold day-- then it is loaded about right. If the transformer is hot enough to keep you coffee cup hot--- then you might consider making some actual measurements.

ceb58