Hurrican Damaged Wiring Replace or Repair

Status
Not open for further replies.

westenelectric

I am a local electrician on the MS Gulf Coast, I am concerned about signing off on storm damaged (flooded) wiring due to storm surge.
The general consensus is that all panels, devices and so on need to be replaced but that the conductors are okay.

I have been trying to repair and not completely rewire people's homes in order to save them money. If a house is not up to code as far as proper service, feeders, and sub-panel sizes, as well as having the proper amount of dedicated circuits such as kitchen/bath and proper AFCI/GFCI protection then I will rewire these areas only, unless I can justice rewiring an entire house.

Many so called electricians are not even doing this they are changing panels and devices only and signing of on it.

I am still concerned about the long term effect of brackish or salt water on the conductor ins. (NM Cable).

Their is about 5 different jurisdictions that I am working in and each AHJ seems to be on a different page on this I think they are overwhelmed

If any one has experience with this I would appreciate your input.

Thanks

If any one has experience with this I would appreciate your input

templdl

Re: Hurrican Damaged Wiring Replace or Repair

I believe that you should start withreviewing this NE MA publication regarding water damaged electrical equipment.
You may want to consider your liablitiy and compare it to saving people money.
Guidelines for Handling water Damaged Electrical Equipment
Also, be very careful of devices purchased from the used marker as there may be a very good chance that a lot of water damaged electrical equipment is being sold there.

physis

I am still concerned about the long term effect of brackish or salt water on the conductor ins. (NM Cable).