I need the cheapest option to go from 208V to 240V

crankbait09

I have a friend that recently installed a 400A, 208V/3PH/4W service into his shop.
We have a 20A/3P breaker within his 400A panel, feeding a dryer unit. Turns out, the dryer needed 240V, not 208V.
When he runs the dryer, obviously it works, but it doesn't get hot enough.
This dryer has a cord/plug, and is not hard wired.

What is the cheapest option to convert 208V to 240V for that 20A circuit (I believe the dryer has an FLA of 15A)?
It would also need to have the plug in order for him to plug into.

I am not an electrician, but I would like to go back to him with options (before we contact an electrician to do the work)

I have seen the step up transformers, as well as the Buck and Boost. With me not being experienced in this type of conversion, I am not sure if there are better options out there.

hillbilly1

Occupation
Owner/electrical contractor
Be careful if there is any 120 volt loads on that equipment. If there is, you must use an open delta buck boost (two transformers) and make sure the third leg (unboosted) feeds the 120 volt leg on the dryer.

MD Automation

Occupation
Engineer
What kind of dryer? Like clothes - or parts? Just curious.

And when you say it does not get hot enough, how are you sure of that?

Do you have access to some kind of clamp on ammeter - and can you tell if the heating elements cycle on and off at some point - or are always on?

The reason I ask is it's quite normal for a dryer (various types) to run on either 208 or 240 (single or 3 phase). Supplied w/ 208, they might take a little longer to reach some operating temperature, but once they get there they will cycle on and off to maintain that temp.

Just thinking out loud - the do nothing option should always be considered first. Especially since you mentioned the cheapest option ;)

1000 pardons if you are 100% sure it needs 240VAC and does not cycle heating elements to regulate temperature.

Jraef

Moderator, OTD