I Think I See a Better Way!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

pierre

I have been an inspector for just a little under 2 years, a contractor for 12 years and in the field for many years before that (imagine that and I am only 29 years old ;) ). I have kept my finger on the pulse of this industry. I have spent countless hours at different contractor association meetings (3 different counties) and many, many IAEI meetings, not to mention my years of teaching. I have listened to countless stories from different people in this industry, helper, journeymen, union, nonunion, GCs, inspectors, homeowners, business owners, building departments (of which I belong to the bldg depart association as well), I have been in continuing education classes since 1983, up to 3 weeks of class per year. I have participated in this and other forums for about 2 1/2 years - of which I have become friendly with some outstanding individuals. I am also an advisor to the county licensing board, and will in September be admitted to the NYS Code Council.

What am I alluding to? ... I have decided that I cannot help the men/women in this field the way I would like to, as an inspector. I tendered my resignation from the inspection company (of which I am a principal owner) last Tuesday - effective next Friday. The part of inspecting I hated the most was telling contractors to make corrections after the installation . To me this is not help.