If it were your house...Panel Choice

Status
Not open for further replies.

electricmanscott

I always use Siemens, panels mostly because that is what my supplier provides.

I am starting a house Monday and am thinking of going with a different brand. Partly because of my troubles with Siemens made combo AFCIs. (Siemens, Murray & GE).

What would YOU use if it were your own house and money was not a factor in the decision?

Hitting the road to see The Red Sox beat down the Orioles in Baltimore, so I won't be reading 'till Monday. :grin:

dduffee260

I like Federal Pacific, that way you never get called back for nuisance tripping on the breakers. Just make sure your insurance is up to date.

brian john

Square D, this may go back to the first contractor I worked with they were 100% SqD. I have been a SqD installer since then. Though on a job were we are adding a new panel I match what is existing when possible.

I hate to say it but the big box home stores will special order you any Cutler Hammer product for about 30% less than you can get it from anyone else (and most likely they will order Square D for you too). I would use CH or Square D. I like the trip to trip position feature on the square D breakers, that being said I went with CH for my house. I got a 200A feed through meter main, a 42 pole sub with main, and a 18 pole sub with main for less than $460. I'll probably spend another $500 on breakers by the time I buy some AFCI's. I think CH and squareD have lifetime warrantees on their panels (but not on the BR series stuff).

If you have a chance you should just go out and buy a ream of paper, then print out the CH and SquareD catalogs. They are a huge help, and it is a lot easier to work with them when you can flip page to page instead of scrolling up and down endless pdf's on your computer. You can find all of the information online if you spend some time looking around.

mdshunk

Bentworker said: