I'm not an Electrician

Rick53

New User
Occupation
Retired
I'm not a professional but hope I can get some advice. I built a home 25 years ago . I wired a transfer switch into the panel . Wired in an outlet . Just never had the need for a generator as Power outages were no existent. But in the last 3 years I have had several. The advice I am hoping to get is simply : Do I get an Inverter Generator or just a traditional one ? I read a lot of hype but can't get a decent answer. Everyone wants to sell you the most expensive unit . Do I really need all that to power up a Few things for a week or so.\? Thanks :
Again I'm just asking for a professional opinion . Thank you kindly

paullmullen

Occupation
Electrical Engineer & Master Electrician
By "inverter generator" are you referring to a battery as the source of energy instead of a generator as the source? There are a whole of of "it depends" responses you'll get. I have been trying to move away from mechanical generators, so I have a bias toward battery storage of energy and that would lead to "inverter generator"... if I'm reading what you mean here.

HOWEVER, in a small phrase at the end you said "for a week or so" and that might rule out all but the larger battery-storage systems. You can always keep pouring gasoline into your generator.

Size depends on what you want to run. If you have a well pump, you probably want something around the 5-6kw size minimum. With small generators you really pay for quiet. Those typical ones you get at big box are fine but usually rather load. Inverter types seem to be more quiet. I wouldn't buy an inverter type just because of the "clean" power, I've never had any problems with conventional ones.

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer