Inspectors VS License Which is the answer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

coppertreeelectric

A county in NY that I do work in is now considering for the first time requiring that all electricians that work in the county become licensed. They are trying to weed out the fly by night or cob job electrician.

Their requirements to take the test are as follows:
- 7+ years working under a licensed electrician.
- If you have been in business for 11+ years you will be grandfathered and not have to take the test.
- $500 a yr fee

I am a licensed class-A Master Electrician in my county and have no problem with taking the test and paying their fee. The problem I have is that a great amount of the poor work I see in the field is not only from inexperienced electricians but also from companies who have been in business for 11+ yrs. I find that for the most part in my area that the older the company is the more likely the company may hire a 2nd yr Jr mechanic to run their jobs. The lack of supervision, experience and training = poor workmanship.

Now my biggest gripe is that the current inspectors in that county don?t do their job at all. They inspect by mail and never even visit the job site or they show up to the site and start filling out the inspection sticker before they even look at the job. I have seen some of these jobs that pass inspection and I feel it should be criminal for some of the jobs to pass inspection. These jobs not only include residential and commercial but also include work in the Hospital industry.

To the point, what is the answer to poor workmanship? Enforce a license that will grandfather in half of the bad electrician due to the ?How long in business? clause, or have electrical inspectors actually do their job.

Just because your licensed doesn?t mean you?re not lazy and do poor work.