Installation of Portable Spa

Status
Not open for further replies.

stodd783

***NOTE*** I am not an electrician and will not be running any of my own wiring related to this post. I am only looking for educated interpretations of the electric code and or opinions that may help me when selecting a contractor.

I recently purchased a portable spa (87"x87"x38") and am getting ready to start checking on contractors to run the circuit for it. However, the manufacture made several claims that I was unsure of.

1. They claim that the spa requires 6/3 wire with a ground (4 Wires) and that if this is used, then the spa does not have to have it's on grounding rod. I guess, based on their claim, the spa would be grounded back to the main service panel?

2. They say that their spas have a "built in" GFCI (It is printed on the contract) and that no other GFCI is required and will actually interfere with the inline one already installed in the unit.

3. They also claim that a service disconnect (emergency switch) is NOT required. I found a posting online from the NFPA that states:

"IV Spas and Hot Tubs680.40 General. Electrical installations at spas and hot tubs shall comply with the provisions of Part I and Part IV.680.41 Emergency Switch for Spas and Hot Tubs.A clearly labeled emergency shutoff or control switch for the purpose of stopping the motor(s) that provide power to the recirculation system and jet system shall be installed at a point readily accessible to the users and not less than 1.5 m (5 ft) away, adjacent to, and within sight of the spa or hot tub. This requirement shall not apply to single-family dwellings."

If this posting is quoting code, then I guess the manufacture is correct, but wouldn't it be safer to have the switch, than to not have the switch?

These three claims could save and / or cost me significantly more, but I would like some independent opinions before pricing this job.