Installing romex in EMT conduit

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jpflex

Electrician big leagues
Occupation
Electrician commercial and residential
when I was an apprentice my boss told me he better never see me put romex (with Its Jacket) into an emt conduit as you would with normal individual insulated wires. I assumed this was a code violation at that time.

However, after reading NEC years later I found that there are situations romex is to be protected by a steel sheet atleast 1/4” thick or When entering a floor hole to be protected by a metallic conduit sleeve.

I have also not found a code (not mentioning fill limit code) that specifically says romex cannot be put Into EMT or conduit. Is this correct?

I also recently passed romex through a double gang metallic box without breaking wires out of jacket, straight in left to exit rear. Code requires equipment to be bonded if likely to be energized but since the conductors are insulated in their Factory jacket, would you still need bonding here?

Attachments

• 23B83FF3-6482-4804-A847-5457DA74B603.jpeg
    23B83FF3-6482-4804-A847-5457DA74B603.jpeg
    26.1 KB · Views: 31

mlnk

It is Code legal to run NM cable in any type of conduit. See Chapter 9 Tables. The limit on fill is 53%. Measure the major diameter of elliptical cables as the diameter. This means one 12-2wG in 1/2" EMT, but I would use 3/4 EMT especially if there are bends.

Jpflex

Electrician big leagues
Occupation
The company I work for only buys THHN but according to code this 75 degree wire is too high for typical installations? Such as terminating on standard 15 to 20 ampere receptacles? Even with ampere derating, what kind of wires should be bought for 60 degrees?

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician