Is a Pool with bonding and gfci breakers but no grounding consider safe ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

electt ref

Occupation
retired
Hi gentlemen I'm an old retired electrician from Florida who's a little confused , My son recently had a pool built in Texas and on a recent visit I got to inspect the Electrical installation , where I notice the pool motors did not have grounding wires on them. Now I went over my code book and article 680.21 specifies that all permitted wiring methods require an insulated equipment grounding conductor. So my question is simple should this installation be permitted ? I await all responses Thanks Joe.

Fred B

Occupation
Electrician
Are talking about the EP bonding, or an EGC?
If the pool pump is of the double insulated type the EP bonding is not attached to the pump but should somewhere locally be present in event of pump change that is not of the double insulated type.
Not aware of any pool pump that doesn't have an EGC unless someone cut it off. (Red flag)

electt ref

Occupation
retired
Are talking about the EP bonding, or an EGC?
If the pool pump is of the double insulated type the EP bonding is not attached to the pump but should somewhere locally be present in event of pump change that is not of the double insulated type.
Not aware of any pool pump that doesn't have an EGC unless someone cut it off. (Red flag)
These pumps are 240 volt hardwired pumps. And no they are not double insulated.

Little Bill

Staff member
Occupation
Semi-Retired Electrician
I’m referring to no EGC running to the motors from the sub panel.
Well if the pool equipment install was inspected, the inspector let his donut get in the way when looking at the motors! There has to be an EGC ran to all electrical equipment (other than low voltage LED) for the pool.

suemarkp

Occupation
Retired Engineer