Is the switch the problem?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I posted a message recently about a florecent fixture that the owner claims is ruining the ballasts. I stopped by there today with my little 'beep-beep' tester. Power at the switch, power at the ballasts. Then I looked at the switch, it looks like a three-way switch (I hope thats the correct terminology) that would be used for controlling a fixture from two different points. This light is only controlled from one point. I am not a professional electrician, but from what I do know, that type of switch hooked up independently, will always allow power to flow. Correct me if I'm wrong, I would like to put this issue to bed. I don't use florescent fixtures in my house anyway. Would a single location switch fix this problem. I don't remember witch wire was hooked to which colored screw, I think the white nuetral was hooked to the bronze screw. help me out here. Thanks.

ryan_618

Re: Is the switch the problem?

I really hope I don't offend you, but I think you're getting in over your head. First of all the "beep-beep" tester you are refering to is basically worthless for troubleshooting, as it won't tell you anything about the nuetral of the circuit. Secondly, you are refering to a nuetral on a switch. If that were the case the circuit would blow up. I think its time you get yourself an electrician to help you out with this. I do admire your trying to help someone though.

jxofaltrds

Inspector Mike®
Occupation
ESI, PI, RBO

I love my ticker tester.

That said it is not a troubleshooting device.

You will get false reading on 3-wire cable. And some of the older cable will muffle the "wave" (induction).

I can show you a pair of "dikes" that prove it is not always right.

Please refer your homeowner questions to a pro. I know you want to help, however, as I have stated before you do not want me to come in after you have made an "expert" opinion.

Mike P.

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation