Isolation panels

Status
Not open for further replies.

kfenn

I'm planning on using Square D's isolation panel for a locate hospital OR.. Has anyone ever heard or used the Duplex Isolation Panel. Is there any other options that you would suggest me using for the panel....

I have never done an OR before. I not to familiar with the isolation panels. Does anyone have any good website that might help explain the theory behind Isolation.

Kfenn

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
Re: Isolation panels

I have used these panels and like them. They are great if you are going to locate both Normal and Critical branches in the same location of the room. (desired anyways)

Here is a good article on Isolated Power Systems as to why.

Roger

kfenn

Thanks Roger....Very helpful..
The only problem that we have is that we need about 40 Critical circuits per OR room...They want each recept on its on circuit...A little over kill, but they get want they want.....Can I place two of the duplex ISO panel in the same room? Don't I need a common disconnect(main breaker/switch) that will shut it all down.

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician

Kfenn, individual circuits? Man!!! :)

I would (I'm not an engineer or designer though) install the one duplex panel 16 circuits per side and one single critical branch panel.

Be sure the architect specs the support for these panels in the builders scope, the panels will weigh well over one hundred pounds.

Roger

stars13bars2

kfenn

These panels and their transformer counterparts are used as roger has noted to isolate and meter minute ammounts of leakage current. Yoy may want to take a look at 517.160(A)(6) fine print notes. Note # 2 was enforced upon me once requiring the removal of #12 thhn and replacing with xhhw. It seemed easier at the time to pull out the thhn, special order the xhhw replacement than to fight the AHJ. You may help all concerned if you just spec xhhw in the plans.

stars13bars2

steve66