job offer

Status
Not open for further replies.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
The work you get from this arrangement requires no marketing or sales effort on your part, nor any billing or collections. For many small businesses, a substantial part of the owner's time is tied up in those kind of issues.

There are a few things that just suck, and a few things that need some clarifications, but it is not all bad IMO.

Its not real clear to me if he wants to employ you in the sense of you being his employee, or if he just wants you as a subcontractor. That would be something to clear up.

It could be this is an opportunity to get some additional business with little risk to yourself and little extra work, or it may not be worth it. its hard to tell from what you posted. See if you can work out a deal if you are interested. Otherwise, politely tell him no thanks.

zappy

I did this once

I did this once

I got 1099 and i was a contractor.They wanted me to go give free estimate to everyone.That got old quick.There pay was like 70% me 30% them.I had to have insurance,keep my van fully stocked,take my logo off my van,and had to be on-call 24/7.I got some side work too from customer's.I wasn't suppose to.

Last edited:

Sparky555

Looking at it from my point-of-view...if I made $80k/year with $20k retirement/year with medical benefits with truck and tool reimbursement...I'd wire all the lights they want in an 8 hour day (no extra charge), do all the free estimates they want, let them use my license, refuse to take on side jobs, etc.

But that's not what they're offering, is it?

To agree to work only for them for a percentage of sales with no minimums is a bad joke.

acwservices