Keeping Up Motivation

mannyb

Occupation
Electrician
How do you guys create motivation. What type of incentives do you offer, if any. We install generators and are looking at ways to increase productivity and looking into types of incentives for keeping peoppe working

mtnelect

HVAC & Electrical Contractor
Occupation
Contractor, C10 & C20 - Semi Retired
Paying "Under the Table" doesn't work anymore in California, since I am a HVAC contractor I am now forced to pay "Ghost Workmans Comp" insurance to keep my license.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
Just my opinion but you will go a long way by honestly appreciating your employees. Money is nice, and you have to stay reasonably competitive wage and benefit wise but going to work everyday someplace you are really appreciated is worth a lot to most people.

You don't get there with a few pizzas either.

letgomywago

Occupation
residential electrician
Things like rounding up pay will help. If they guys know that they can do 2 generators in a day and get an extra bonus of half a days pay vs just being hourly that'll help.

I also believe that owners should be in the ditches and attics as long as they can working with their guys to help. Not the slave driving work harder this is too slow type stuff but the "let's do this I'll take the crappy part of the job and if you guys can help keep it flowing we'll be done early with a full days pay". Then actually help.

Make sure you don't show off your nice possessions while they're struggling that's not going to motivate them.

Ask them if they have ideas where you can improve as an owner. Even if they don't know asking will help them feel appreciated.

mtnelect

HVAC & Electrical Contractor
Occupation
Contractor, C10 & C20 - Semi Retired