Klein ET450 tracing giving me false reading need a little help if possible

Status
Not open for further replies.

dfphoto

New User
Occupation
appliance repair
Dear group, I'm an appliance tech apologies if not being an electrician is not allowed. I own a condo and have an open Line wire from a light switch to an outlet in a bedroom. My Klein ET450 has not been as great so far.
1. Tested continuity with a wire to wire connection using a DMM black no continuity, red and white have continuity.
2. With 120v no voltage on the Black, White, or ground wires. I'm assuming an Open in a junction box, we have had about 4 smaller earthquakes lately.
3. I have an ET450 and the ethernet VDV500 tone generator as well. Both showed a potential issue in the drywall near a corner. Opening the wall resulted in a solid wire false reading.
4. I tried the unit following the directions with ground using a water line pipe and the in box ground with the same results.
5. I tried different sensitivity settings from 5-6-7(8 is max) currently showing me two potential areas on a different wall 1 above the light switch and another about 6 feet away above an outlet that is fed by a different circuit.

The condo has 3/4 drywall thickness and I am not trusting my meters since the above, wondering if I might be doing something you don't agree with. I let the meter have 5-10 sec to send the beam out before moving a few inches, and I have tried letting the meter go to 0 before getting a reading. a I can normally get some reading. 10-20 and a few areas I see changes in the 30-50% range but that's exactly what happened on hole #1.

On setting 5 with no power I get about 55 on the drywall as a solid reading on 6 I can get to 99(max) the manual said to use the middle scale where possible. On level 7 I was not placing the (hand wand) on the drywall at all and to get some readings on areas where I was seeing 0 or close to 0 (4-13). Thank you if you can help me out.

From the manual:
TRACING WIRES