LED glows during power outage

Status
Not open for further replies.

gthomas785

Occupation
Physicist
Hi Everyone, I am not an electrician but this isn't a DIY post I'm just curious about something I observed. Wondering if anyone on this site has any insights.

The other night we had a power outage. A storm came through and presumably knocked a branch onto a wire, my whole street was out as well as a couple of adjoining streets. However, My neighbors around the corner still had power. I live in a single family house with 240/120 single phase service and share a transformer with 4 other houses on my street.

So I get up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom and notice that the LED night light plugged into the GFCI above the sink is glowing. Nowhere near the usual brightness mind you, but bright enough that I can see my way around the bathroom. I unplugged it and it went out, plugged it back in and it came back on. As I watched it longer, I noticed that the brightness was kind of slowly pulsating, it would fade away (like a capacitor discharging) and then suddenly come back on. The time between pulses was completely random. Keep in mind none of the other lights in the house were doing anything like this, it was a total blackout. Kinda freaky actually. I didn't bother to do any further testing because it was the middle of the night and I wanted to go back to bed.

We've had power outages in the night before and this is the first time I've seen this. So I'm trying to figure out why it happened. I have a couple of ideas.

I've seen the "LEDs glow when off" threads on here and it's usually blamed on either a switched neutral or some capacitive coupling across switch terminals. But this is different, a power outage on my whole street, those scenarios would not apply.