Legalese and Contracts

Status
Not open for further replies.

DWEames

I'm a small contractor in New Orleans doing mostly Residential work. I'm in business for myself, and hoping to improve the professionalism of my company and contracting methods. In particular, I'm wondering how much is enough or too much to write on a bid. After starting up a company from scratch, I can certainly see the appeal of hiring on with an established company and working your way up through the ranks. Any advice or resources would be greatly appreciated.

Sierrasparky

Occupation
Electrician ,contractor
From experience to need to place all the legal mumbo jumbo as required by code and Law. Then you need to add some stuff to protect yourself.

I will say that the more you have the more your customer will be overwhealmed and likely not choose you when there is a choice.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
If you can, try and get your lawyer to reduce the terms and conditions to a single page and print it on the back of your estimates and invoices, and reference them from the front side. That way it is difficult for someone to claim they did not know about them.

Most states are governed by some form of the UCC so a lot of the kinds of things you are probably worried about are already taken care of by state law, and things covered by state law often can't be changed by contract anyway.

gadfly56

Occupation
Professional Engineer, Fire & Life Safety
If you can, try and get your lawyer to reduce the terms and conditions to a single page and print it on the back of your estimates and invoices, and reference them from the front side. That way it is difficult for someone to claim they did not know about them.

Most states are governed by some form of the UCC so a lot of the kinds of things you are probably worried about are already taken care of by state law, and things covered by state law often can't be changed by contract anyway.

What Bob said.

Sierrasparky

Occupation
Electrician ,contractor