License?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have been working as an electrician for 37 years, having completed an IBEW apprenticeship for the Inside Wiremans program in 1977. I passed an exam that same year becoming a journeyman wireman. I managed many large projects in the Chicago area for many years and now have moved to a rural area of Missouri. I guess I am wondering, after reading so many posts on this site, what license/certification, etc. would a person need in so many places? What I am saying is that many locations require no license--even Chicago and the surrounding areas. The contractor may carry a contractors license but the electricians that worked for me there are NOT licensed. In fact, I got a commercial license in a small municipality there, just to have a license--but most towns and villages don't require one. Less the one larger city near me here, I need nothing to do electrical work here, plus the city that does require a license has zero reciprocity regardless. ----Just wondering---I guess I just being the devil's advocate--Are you licensed?? answer--I don't need one.---???

its better to have it due to some jurisdictions needing them. Now not saying thats the case here, but I do know in the state of California you have to be licensed to limit liability. The fines out here can be well nuts. Its better that you are licensed so the state knows that if you screw up you will fix it.

wireguy8169