Light installed on mirror.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello, My name is Mick.
Could someone please shed some light on the following situation?
I just finished re modeling a bathroom. There is a wall to wall mirror above the vanity with the light sitting on the mirror.
Glass guy installed the mirror and it broke when the electrician was installing the light.
Glass guy says it was the electricians fault and electrician says it was the glass guys fault.
Electrician used a 2" x 4" box (is this OK for a heavy light).
The mirror covered the 4 corners of the box as it was cut oval shaped (is this within code?).
Electrician says the box should have been fully exposed. Glass guy says the box should have been 4" and round.
I am not an electrician, can someone please tell me what is the code requirement for a Light fixture box in this situation? Please note, I did not make a penny either from the Electrical work or the Glass work. I am ready to pay for the glass out of my pocket to get this thing resolved.... Help!

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
IMO, the box should be fully exposed. I have been in this situation where the mirror guy did not cut the glass enough to get the screws in straight. When my guys put the screws in at an angle the mirror cracked but many hours later. We ate it. It was a lesson for the boys as they should not have installed the light and when the do they need to use some rubber grommets so that the screws are not putting pressure on the mirror.

Good luck trying to decide who is at fault. Maybe they both can pay half

iwire

Staff member
I do agree with Dennis in that the box should have been exposed

However, it is bad practice to cut square corners in glass. In my opinion the electrician should have used a round box.

It seems lack of experience or lack of communication was the issue and the cost should be split.

K8MHZ

Michigan. It's a beautiful peninsula, I've looked
Occupation
Electrician