Lighting education

Status
Not open for further replies.

CNC

I'm curious, if any electricians here have any good sources, or tips on furthering lighting knowledge. Lighting is such a detailed subject that i am trying to really specialize in.
Being a journeyman electrician, I have had alittle bit of everything, construction, service, maintenance. I definitely feel for an electrician I know alot about lighting, but want to get further into design. I feel like knowing the basics of design, and calculations, it would help alot in maintenance, and retrofits. I'm not trying to play engineer or lighting designer, I just want to basics. Photometrics, foot-candle calculations, Lighting design basics etc. I have researched my "lighting certification", im looking for good books, literature, websites, Any online classes, or useful certificates.
Any input from someone that has taken their own electrical career or knowledge, and focused more on specifically lighting. Thanks in advance guys.

cadpoint

I beleive you need to look at this society - IES Lighting Society, this group has books for sale, course studies, and a membership fee which includes a monthly magazine (LD+A).

Here a search engine link that states about the same IES Lighting Society

I have no relationship with this society in making this referral!

Last Leg

There is probably an ulimited source of knowledge on line. IES is good. Also, the major manufacturers have a lot of resources on their sites, too. Cooper, Lithonia, Lightolier, etc.

BullsnPyrs

There is probably an ulimited source of knowledge on line. IES is good. Also, the major manufacturers have a lot of resources on their sites, too. Cooper, Lithonia, Lightolier, etc.

What he said! Other smaller manufacturers and distributers like TCP also offer informative webinars and resources online.

rexowner

Occupation
Electrician
If you are in California, PG&E offers some decent free classes.