Load Shedding

Status
Not open for further replies.

jcardwell

Inactive, Email Never Verified
Hello again. I am an electrical contractor, but my specialty is not in Generators. I installed an 11k Generac through a service rated ATS. The service is 200A, and obviously the generator is not "capable" of serving a 200A load. The inspector requested a load calc and service calc for the home. Also, the the generator has a 50A breaker on the unit itself. The ATS came as a set with the generator. There are 3 load shedding modules available in the ATS and I have been researching the actual load shedding devices but I don't understand if I need one for each load to be shed, or if there is one available that is listed for use with this generac setup which will shed 3 large loads by itself. If anyone has any first hand experience with this, I am all ears. Again, this is not my wheelhouse at all, so please be gentle and use small words. Thanks guys.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
Generac has really done some innovative things with their load shed and there are some guys here who may explain the particulars but, unless things have changed, the connections points you see are dry contacts and designed to switch interdependent loads such as the 24v control on the HVAC, etc,.. so normally each load shed would be controlled by one of the sets of contacts but if you wanted to install relays at multiple locations you could control any number of devioces off one contact.

jcardwell

Inactive, Email Never Verified