Looking For Classroom Additions for a Better Learning Environment

Dad_Bod_Don

Occupation
Electrical Apprenticeship Instructor
I'm an Instructor for an electrical apprenticeship program. I want to find older electrical and eventually get a copy/reprint of all the NEC codebooks. Have any of you found a place to get the codebooks? Also, what have you guys done to find older electrical without breaking the bank. Any Suggestions help. I want my students to be able to compare what things are like now, to how it used to be.

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
Welcome to the forum.

If by "older electrical" you mean obsolete residential equipment and installations, see if you can find people who renovate older homes. Those with knob-and-tube wiring is a good place to start.

Dad_Bod_Don

Occupation
Welcome to the forum.

If by "older electrical" you mean obsolete residential equipment and installations, see if you can find people who renovate older homes. Those with knob-and-tube wiring is a good place to start.
Thank you, and yes. Obsolete equipment and not just purely residential. I'm also trying to find antique tools of the trade. Like I have a megger that was last calibrated in 1970. I've been going to estate sales trying to find stuff as well.

Dad_Bod_Don

Occupation
You can get a start on your archive by having a look here for more information.

I saw the 1920 one and that was nice. I'm more looking for physical reprints or books that a student can pick up or visually see the difference in size compared to what they are using now.

mtnelect

HVAC & Electrical Contractor
Occupation
Contractor, C10 & C20 - Semi Retired
That reminds me of my Inside Wiremans exam at IBEW Local 11. Part of the exam was a large board of vintage electrical items that had to be identified.

tortuga

Code Historian
Occupation
Electrical Design