Low Voltage Grounding for Lightning

Status
Not open for further replies.

dolsonmch

Occupation
AV Consultant
I'm a consultant for Audio-Visual Systems. Fairly regularly we design systems that have an outdoor component to a mostly indoor system. Our concern is grounding for low voltage copper lines that go from outside plates or equipment locations into an equipment rack room inside. Is there code that we need to follow for this scenario? I've looked at the stuff that TPD makes and that can work, I'm just wondering if it is required.

tom baker

First Chief Moderator
Staff member
What is the voltage?
Are you using an Art 411 system?
Are the lights fed from a GFCI?
What is an outside plate?
Who or what is TPD?

Last edited:

dolsonmch

Occupation
AV Consultant
Low voltage. AV system, not lighting. We're concerned about code requirements for a Lightning strike happening nearby and what we need to do to mitigate that voltage to keep it from going into the building.

tom baker

First Chief Moderator
Staff member
Ok sorry I saw AV and thought lighting
What is the voltage?
What is a plate?
You’ll want SPD on all lines/wires in and out of building and a single point ground
If lightning hits your outside equipment it’s gone
You may be able to prevent damage to inside gear.
And SPDS on inside gear

Last edited:

dolsonmch

Occupation
AV Consultant
can you tell me where those rules are in the NEC? I've looked through a number of books and haven't been able to find specifics on LV wiring related to lightning

dolsonmch

Occupation
AV Consultant
Voltage. It's audio visual equipment, so it varies. If it's a speaker line it could over 120v.

Plate. Connection plate in a box with multiple connections.

Here's an example of a plate:
PTR3210-500x500.jpg

You probably won't find what you're looking for in NFPA 70 (the NEC) although there might be something in article 800. Also, BICSI may have something relevant. (I'm too lazy to check them at the moment :LOL:.)