machine saftey

Status
Not open for further replies.

jerryc

I have been working in the Electrical field for 24 years and have a background in food manufactoring. I am currenlty working as a plant electrician (the only one in the plant) and have been questioned if i have the authority to lock out an unsafe machine instead of letting it run product. As the licensed electrician I feel I do have the authority to do this, please advise on how to let my boss know this is true, he is not knowledgable in the electical field. He feels he can overstep me to run product in an unsafe machine.

mdshunk

Yeah, welcome to manufacturing. I think this was the main reason I no longer work as a factory electrician. Production trumps all else.

quogueelectric

Keep good notes as to who you talked to and at what time and write this in a personal diary (composition book no loose pages) as notes made on the job are the property of your boss. Lock it out tag it out to work on it and if he wants to defeat your tags just keep good notes so when someone gets fried you can show the court you did your job properly and he overrode it.
if he fires you for this you then have the lawsuit instead of a dead guy it is win win for you try to get witnesses.

Last edited:

eric9822

Occupation
Electrical and Instrumentation Tech
I guess it depends on who you work for. I have that authority and I have prevented equipment from being run because I have the backing of the Plant Manager and Health Safety Management at our corporate offices. If I did not have that support I would be out on a limb. If you don't have the support of the people in charge then the best you can do is ensure that everyone knows that you object to the equipment being run and your reasons why. At that point it is up to management and the machine operators.

billsnuff

jerryc

jerryc