Main Panel Neutral Bar

Status
Not open for further replies.
This forum is a great learning tool!! While getting ready for a career change toward becomming an electrician, I'm hoping I can ask a strictly educational question from time to time...

In my travels as a broadcast engineer, I've seen my share of electrical panels - some installed properly, some done by someone with no business holding a pair of wire cutters!

My question is this...

I understand that the neutral gets bonded to the ground electrode conductor at the first OCP box / panel. Is there supposed to be two buss bars - one for branch circuit neutrals, and one for grounds?

I've seen many neutral bars with branch neutrals and grounds both running to them, many times 2 to a screw (which I believe is a violation :confused: ).

Thanks for any clarification you can provide.

Oh - and before anyone brings it up - I'm going to get a copy of the '05 NEC next week so I can follow the references on all f these posts!

Tim

George Stolz

Staff member
Occupation
Service Manager
Re: Main Panel Neutral Bar

Originally posted by Tim Backer:
This forum is a great learning tool!! While getting ready for a career change toward becomming an electrician, I'm hoping I can ask a strictly educational question from time to time...
Tim, welcome to the forum. :)

Is there supposed to be two buss bars - one for branch circuit neutrals, and one for grounds?
No, they can be on the same bar. I don't do it that way.

I've seen many neutral bars with branch neutrals and grounds both running to them, many times 2 to a screw (which I believe is a violation :)

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)

Neutrals can never be under the same screw. I'd cite a reference, but my wife is waiting on me to get off.
:D

Thanks - this is what I thought...