Main service panel?

Status
Not open for further replies.

markm

I am a home inspector. I ran into this panel the other day. I was not able to get into the house itself, this main panel was in the garage. I am unfamiliar with this type of main panel, is there something specific I should be looking for inside, or is this the same as any main service?

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
Don't get everyone going on the Federal panel. It is not much liked around here, however, it looks like you have a 400 amp panel (I assume the bottom pull out is the main). What specifically do you want to know.

I have never seen a 400 amp federal panel in a residence.

markm

I understand that Stab- loks are the F-P issue. I haven't seen one of these panels before. I get to go back to this home and wanted more knowledge as to what to look for. I think it should be wired as any main panel. Thanks.

wbalsam1

markm said:
I am a home inspector. I ran into this panel the other day. I was not able to get into the house itself, this main panel was in the garage. I am unfamiliar with this type of main panel, is there something specific I should be looking for inside, or is this the same as any main service?

Your questions suggest to me that you may be unfamiliar with electrical services in general. If, in fact, that assumption is true, be very careful representing yourself as knowledgeable about electrical to the extent that if you should "OK" something it could come back to bite you later. Or worse yet, someone could rely on your perhaps untrained assessment and become injured, etc. If this does not apply to you, please accept my humble apologies. Perhaps it's just the way you worded your questions, or the way in which I've interpreted them. Best of luck in any event. :)

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer