Marina - High Neutral-Ground Voltage

Robert_in_MS

New User
Occupation
Mechanical Engineer
Hi Folks,

I’m in leadership, and have a small boat, at a local marina. We recently had new piers installed and there were issues with the electrical panels and pedestals which first showed up because I was getting a reverse polarity indication (RPL for brevity) in my 1981 vintage trawler. I checked and there was 7.45V between Neutral and Ground when the RPL was on. I then found big problems with the panels and wiring because I do have a good bit of experience with electrical systems and panels, I was a plant engineer at a manufacturing company for years. It was quite a mess, and I was asked to help, so we worked with the same professional electrical engineer to get the drawings revised and same contractor to get everything corrected. I have read thoroughly y’all’s Intro to Article 555 and a detailed article on ABYC Electrical Standard (by Jim? Gilwellbear, Mike is linked in it) which were very helpful in getting everything straightened out. I did search and read thru the forum but could not find enough information to fully help me with my continuing problem.

The system is 120V with 30A Shore Power (and 20A GFCI) receptacles fed from a main panel on land, then some 400 ft to a sub-panel in a boathouse, then to a sub-panel on the pier, then to the International Dock Products pedestals. Both before the redo of the panels and wiring, and now, I’ve confirmed that the 30A receptacles were/are wired properly, so my RPL is not actually reversed polarity in the wiring.