MC Cable Supported by MC Cable

Status
Not open for further replies.

hbendillo

I am an engineer and recently performed an field inspection on a project for which our AE company was the design firm. It is a health care occupancy and in particular an Critical Care ward. I was not a part of the original design team.

Value engineering was done on the project to use MC cable. I do not have many projects in which I have been involved where MC cable was used and none in a Health Care Occupancy. Among other issues I am having with the Contractor is using MC cable to support other MC cable in a bundle. The Contractor claims that one can support up to two MC cables to another MC cable that is supported and fastened according to code requirements. In other words one MC cable fastened and supported and the other two tie-wrapped to it. I cannot find where that is explicitly allowed. I am thinking he may be confusing the derating requirements of bundled MC cables.

Can anybody guide me to the requirements for this condition?

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
The NEC doesn't specify how it's supported so it's really a judgement call by the AHJ unless something in the specification for the job dictated how it was to be done. I don't see a problem bundling a few cables together and strapping only one since cable ties are permitted for securing MC cables.

macmikeman

Speaking of 300.11 (D) , I have seen electrical inspectors get pretty excited over finding electrical cables supported from other mechanical systems such as the 3/8" rod suspending a sprinkler pipe, or mc cable draped over air ducts in suspended ceilings. But does such a preventative code exist in the electrical code book? (I realize that it may be prohibited someplace in lets say the plumbing code or the sprinkler code or some such, but specifically how about the NEC?)

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)