MC cable touching metal sprinkler pipes

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rick N.

New User
Occupation
ElectricalBuilding Inspector
I am currently an electrical inspector in VA, before that I was a commercial electrician. When I was in the field, I was always told that our MC cables couldn't make any contact with the sprinkler pipes, both metallic and non metallic. Now that I am on the flip side and performing these inspections I have been letting the electricians know that they can't have their cables come in contact with the sprinkler pipes. I cannot find anywhere in the NEC that specifically states that the cables cannot touch these pipes. Where would if any could I find a code article to enforce this?

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
There is nothing in the NEC that would require the separation you speak of. IMO it's a non-issue.

Welcome to the Forum. :)

gadfly56

Occupation
Professional Engineer, Fire & Life Safety
I am currently an electrical inspector in VA, before that I was a commercial electrician. When I was in the field, I was always told that our MC cables couldn't make any contact with the sprinkler pipes, both metallic and non metallic. Now that I am on the flip side and performing these inspections I have been letting the electricians know that they can't have their cables come in contact with the sprinkler pipes. I cannot find anywhere in the NEC that specifically states that the cables cannot touch these pipes. Where would if any could I find a code article to enforce this?
If by "touch", you mean incidental contact it's not a big deal, although it should be corrected if found. If you mean strapped to or laying on, that's a no-no, and it comes from NFPA 13.

curt swartz

Electrical Contractor - San Jose, CA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor